Celebration of Latino Cinema


Presented Virtually by the Critics Choice Association on Thursday, December 9, 2021

Press Video Clips Available HERE 

(Los Angeles, CA, – December 9, 2021) – Tonight, the Critics Choice Association hosted the inaugural Celebration of Latino Cinema, celebrating the year’s groundbreaking achievements and outstanding work of Latino performers and creators.

The virtual event’s host was writer, producer, actress, and comedian Cristela Alonzo. Invited guests included members of the Critics Choice Association, AMPAS, PGA, WGA, DGA, SAG-AFTRA, BAFTA, press and many in the Latino film production community.

The Celebration of Latino Cinema honored the following: 

  • Rita Moreno received the Icon Award. The award was presented to her by Gloria Estefan & Emilio Estefan.
  • Demián Bichir received the Career Achievement Award. The award was presented to him by Chris Weitz. 
  • Lin-Manuel Miranda received the Visionary Award. The award was presented to him by Robin de Jesús.
  • Reinaldo Marcus Green received the Director Award for the film King Richard. The award was presented by King Richard star Aunjanue Ellis
  • Clifton Collins Jr. received the Actor Award for his starring role in the upcoming film Jockey. The award was presented to him by Don Cheadle.
  • Olga Merediz received the Actress Award for her role in In the Heights. The award was presented to her by Jon M. Chu.
  • Eugenio Derbez received the Supporting Actor Award for his role in CODA. The award was presented to him by Eva Longoria.
  • The creative team behind Netflix’s Vivo, which includes Gloria Estefan, Alex Lacamoire, Juan de Marcos, Lin-Manuel Miranda, and Ynairaly Simo, received the Film Music Award. The award was presented by Andy Garcia. 
  • Tatiana Huezo received the International Film Award for her latest feature, Prayers for the Stolen. The award was presented by Gregory Nava.
  • Natalie Moralesreceived a Special Honoree Award. The award was presented by Michaela Watkins.

About the Critics Choice Association (CCA) 

The Critics Choice Association is the largest critics organization in the United States and Canada, representing almost 500 television, radio and online critics and entertainment reporters. It was established in 2019 with the formal merger of the Broadcast Film Critics Association and the Broadcast Television Journalists Association, recognizing the intersection between film, television, and streaming content. For more information, visit: www.CriticsChoice.com.